Torrens University Australia’s Governing Board oversees operational performance and discusses the strategic direction of the group.

Governance Structure

Governing Board Committees

The Governing Board has two committees which meet quarterly before each Board meeting:

  • The Finance Committee provides expert advice to the Governing Board both on Torrens’ financial performance in the current year and also the financial implications of any future plans.
  • The Audit and Risk Committee provides expert advice to the Governing Board on Torrens’ audit and risk performance.

The third committee, Remuneration and Senior Staff Committee, meets annually, and as required, to oversee senior appointments (CEO, VC and CFO), President performance and Board succession and development.

Governing Board members

Michael Mann AM, Chancellor

Michael was Managing Director Asia Pacific, Laureate International Universities until 2019. He most recently served as founding President of the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology’s (RMIT) University in Vietnam, where he established 2 campuses in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City. Previously, he was the Australian Ambassador to Vietnam and Laos, founding CEO of the Australian Television Network at the ABC, and has served as a member of the Australian diplomatic corps in China, Cambodia, Indonesia, Thailand, Japan, France and Italy.

Linda Brown

Linda is President, Torrens University Australia; CEO, Think Education and CEO Laureate Australia. Prior to joining Torrens in 2014, Linda was Deputy Vice Chancellor and Director TAFE at Swinburne University, Melbourne. Prior to Swinburne, Linda held the position of Director of Metropolitan South Institute of TAFE in Brisbane and was a senior Queensland Government executive with the Department of Education, Training and the Arts. She also has global business and educational experience, including Corporate CEO, Futures Stockbroker, Managing Director Dartington Tech UK and Director of Stoke-on-Trent FE College.

Hon. Greg Crafter AO

Greg was a member of the South Australian Parliament between 1979 and 1993, holding Ministerial office for eleven of those years. He was Minister of Education for seven years. Greg was President of the Geneva based International Baccalaureate Organisation between 1996 and 2003. He is currently Chair of the National Catholic Education Commission which represents the 760,000 students and 93,000 staff in Australia’s Catholic schools. He has developed a career as a Non Executive Director and consultant serving on private company, public and charitable boards and has been appointed to Public Sector Boards and Commissions of Enquiry by both Liberal and Labor governments.

Emeritus Professor Dennis Gibson AO

In a long and distinguished career, Dennis held various positions in which he has shaped Australia’s Higher Education sector. Dennis was previously Chancellor of RMIT and first Vice-Chancellor of the Queensland University of Technology. In 2002, he was made a Member of the Order of Australia in recognition of his contribution to education. In 2003, he was awarded the Centenary Medal.

Emeritus Professor Gerard Sutton AO

Gerard, former Vice-Chancellor of Wollongong University, is one of the longest serving Vice-Chancellors (from 1995-2011), and a former Chair of Universities Australia. He was awarded an Australian Centenary Medal for his contribution to tertiary education in Australia, and in 2008 was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO).

Michael Reed

Michael is Regional Counsel – Asia Pacific, Middle East and Africa at Laureate International Universities. Prior to joining Laureate he was a partner at DLA Piper, a leading global law firm and has practised as a solicitor for over 35 years.

Paula Singer

Paula is the CEO of Walden and Laureate Online Partners. Previously, Paula was the first Chief Network Officer (CNO) of Laureate Education. As CNO she was responsible for establishing the Laureate Network Office (LNO) and achieving its mission of executing on the power of the Laureate International Universities network to be a distinct advantage for the organisation and a disruptive force in higher education. In this role, Ms. Singer extended collaboration, innovation and best practices of faculty and staff throughout the 80 institutions of higher education in 28 countries that are part of the Laureate International Universities network for the benefit of the more than 1 million students enrolled at a Laureate institution. Under her leadership, the LNO supported and strengthened the quality education offered by Laureate institutions, focusing particularly on digital teaching and learning, academic excellence, student success and career readiness, and category management for global verticals such as health sciences and engineering.